ITIL Certification Overview

ITIL’s IT Service Management (ITSM) Best Practice is supported by a training scheme. ITIL certification enables practitioners to demonstrate their abilities in adopting and adapting the framework to address their specific needs.

ITIL® advocates that IT services are aligned to the needs of the business and support its core processes. It provides guidance to organisations and individuals on how to use IT as a tool to facilitate business change, transformation and growth. ITIL has been adopted by thousands of organisations worldwide, including NASA, Microsoft and HSBC.

ITIL is mapped in ISO 20000 Part 11. This recognises the way that ITIL can be used to meet the requirements set out for ISO 20000 certification and the interdependent nature with ITIL. This is the first such mapping that ISO (the International Organisation for Standardisation) has allowed to be part of their standards.

The ITIL best practices are currently detailed within five following core publications:

– ITIL Service Strategy
– ITIL Service Design
– ITIL Service Transition
– ITIL Service Operation
– ITIL Continual Service Improvement.

These five volumes map the entire ITIL Service Lifecycle, beginning with the identification of customer needs and drivers of IT requirements, through to the design and implementation of the service and finally, the monitoring and improvement phase of the service.

ITIL Certification & Training

The ITIL certification scheme provides a modular approach to the ITIL framework, and is comprised of a series of qualifications focused on different aspects of ITIL best practice to various degrees of depth and detail.

The tiered structure of the qualification offers candidates flexibility relating to the different disciplines and areas of ITIL and the ability to focus their studies on key areas of interest.

There are five certification levels within the scheme:

Foundation Level
The Foundation level is the entry level certification which offers you a general awareness of the key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle, including the links between lifecycle stages, the processes used and their contribution to service management practices.

Practitioner Level
The Practitioner level is the next stage in the ITIL certification scheme. It has been developed to provide a step between Foundation and the Intermediate Level and aims to improve the ability of individuals to adopt and adapt ITIL in their organisations.

Intermediate Level
The Intermediate level certification has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation level and Practitioner, and provide an industry-recognised qualification.

Expert Level
The ITIL Expert level qualification is aimed at those who are interested in demonstrating knowledge of the ITIL certification scheme in its entirety. The certificate is awarded to candidates who have achieved a range of ITIL certifications and have attained a well rounded, superior knowledge and skills base in ITIL Best Practices.

ITIL Certification Scheme Diagram

Master Level
To achieve the ITIL Master certification, you must be able to explain and justify how you have personally selected and applied a range of knowledge, principles, methods and techniques from ITIL and supporting management techniques, to achieve desired business outcomes in one or more practical assignments.

For more information please visit the AXELOS website.

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.

case-studies case-studies-hover company company-hover contact-us contact-us-hover modules modules-hover newseum newseum-hover people people-hover processes processes-hover srtting srtting-hover Plus Minus